The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   NFHS - Appeal Play (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/102478-nfhs-appeal-play.html)

johnnyg08 Sun Mar 26, 2017 09:20am

NFHS - Appeal Play
 
What are your thoughts on this one?

Jones, advancing from first to third, fails to touch second base and is standing on third when the throw from the outfield
goes into the dugout.

A. The umpire is to immediately declare Jones out for missing second base.

B. Because Jones missed second base, he cannot be awarded home from the errant throw to the dugout.

C. If Jones attempts to return to second base, the defense cannot appeal his missing second until Jones has completed his
opportunity to correct the mistake.

D. Jones cannot legally return to his missed base and is subject to being declared out upon proper and successful appeal.

Rich Ives Sun Mar 26, 2017 10:30am

D

In NFHS you cannot return once you are on or past the next base WHEN the ball goes dead..

In OBR you cannot return once you touch the next base AFTER the ball goes dead.

johnnyg08 Sun Mar 26, 2017 06:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 1003473)
D

In NFHS you cannot return once you are on or last the next base WHEN the ball goes dead..

In OBR you cannot return once you touch the next base AFTER the ball goes dead.

Thanks Rich for pointing out the difference. Well done.

thumpferee Fri Mar 31, 2017 12:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 1003473)
D

In NFHS you cannot return once you are on or past the next base WHEN the ball goes dead..

In OBR you cannot return once you touch the next base AFTER the ball goes dead.

Is there a difference?

So in OBR, if you are between bases and the ball becomes dead and then you touch the next base, you are screwed?

In NFHS, if you are between bases and the ball becomes dead and then you touch the next base, you can retouch?

Yes I'm bored!

bob jenkins Fri Mar 31, 2017 06:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by thumpferee (Post 1003923)
Is there a difference?

Yes

Quote:


So in OBR, if you are between bases and the ball becomes dead and then you touch the next base, you are screwed?
Yes

Quote:


In NFHS, if you are between bases and the ball becomes dead and then you touch the next base, you can retouch?
No. You are still "screwed" under FEd rules in this situation.

The difference is that if you are on the next base WHEN the ball becomes dead -- you can retouch in OBR, but not in FED.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1