The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Obstruction (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/101249-obstruction.html)

Benchcoach Thu Apr 14, 2016 10:58am

Obstruction
 
Fed Rules. On pick off play large F3 when throw permits always takes front knee to the ground and uses thigh to block return to the base. I have Obstruction. Any disagreements?

bob jenkins Thu Apr 14, 2016 11:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Benchcoach (Post 986229)
Fed Rules. On pick off play large F3 when throw permits always takes front knee to the ground and uses thigh to block return to the base. I have Obstruction. Any disagreements?

It's OBS *IF* it (a) happens before F3 catches the ball (and to be clear, it's the OBS that must happen, not just the dropping the knee), AND (b) F3 denies complete access to the base.

If F3 drops to the ground then catches the ball then the runner contacts F3 -- probably legal.

If F3 blocks part of the base but leaves part for the runner, probably legal (and "part" means "part of the side facing second base").

BEAREF Thu Apr 14, 2016 12:46pm

Obstruction

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fed Rules. On pick off play large F3 when throw permits always takes front knee to the ground and uses thigh to block return to the base. I have Obstruction. Any disagreements?


Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 986230)
It's OBS *IF* it (a) happens before F3 catches the ball (and to be clear, it's the OBS that must happen, not just the dropping the knee), AND (b) F3 denies complete access to the base.

If F3 drops to the ground then catches the ball then the runner contacts F3 -- probably legal.

If F3 blocks part of the base but leaves part for the runner, probably legal (and "part" means "part of the side facing second base").

Would it be the same if it was a small F3 :D

CoachPaul Mon Apr 18, 2016 08:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 986230)
...If F3 drops to the ground then catches the ball then the runner contacts F3 -- probably legal...

I'd say that would be obstruction and therefore ILLEGAL.

bob jenkins Mon Apr 18, 2016 09:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachPaul (Post 986385)
I'd say that would be obstruction and therefore ILLEGAL.

Why? the runner wasn't "hindered" until F3 already had the ball.

illinoisbluezeb Mon Apr 18, 2016 07:53pm

2.22.1 SITUATION B: B1 hits the ball into the gap. He rounds first and heads to second base. F6 blocks the base (a) while the outfielder still has the ball, (b) after F6 catches the ball, or (c) the ball is in motion from the outfield and F6 will probably make a play on B1. RULING: Obstruction in (a); legal in (b); obstruction in (c) if F6 denies access to the base without possession of the ball.

CoachPaul Tue Apr 19, 2016 11:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 986391)
Why? the runner wasn't "hindered" until F3 already had the ball.

He dropped to his knee before catching the ball. That's what you wrote. That's like a catcher blocking the plate without the ball.

Welpe Tue Apr 19, 2016 11:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachPaul (Post 986513)
He dropped to his knee before catching the ball. That's what you wrote. That's like a catcher blocking the plate without the ball.


A fielder can be in front of a bag without the ball. What he can't do is hinder the runner when he doesn't have the ball. There is a difference.

bob jenkins Wed Apr 20, 2016 07:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachPaul (Post 986513)
He dropped to his knee before catching the ball. That's what you wrote. That's like a catcher blocking the plate without the ball.

And on a pick-off, the runner isn't likely to be hindered until the actual moment of contact -- so if the fielder has the ball when the contact occurs, no OBS. (yes, there are some exceptions; and NCAA makes this move OBS even if the fielder has the ball when the contact occurs)

CoachPaul Wed Apr 20, 2016 02:50pm

If F3 blocks the runner's access to the base without the ball, he's obstructed him unless the tag is applied before contact. We wouldn't allow the runner to push F3 off the base and interfere. If the pick off throw drew F3 I to the path of the runner, then I would not have obstruction.

thumpferee Wed Apr 20, 2016 09:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachPaul (Post 986542)
If the pick off throw drew F3 I to the path of the runner, then I would not have obstruction.

Why not?

F3 bumps R1 and knocks him off balance as he reaches for an errant throw. F3 catches the ball and tags R3.

CoachPaul Wed Apr 20, 2016 10:04pm

Why? You can't be serious. F3 has a right to go for the ball. If the throw draws him into the runner it's incidental contact while making a baseball play. Both players doing the right thing and occupying the same space. How about you explain why F3 has no right to move to make a play on an errant throw. I'm sure we would all learn something new.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Apr 20, 2016 11:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachPaul (Post 986552)
Why? You can't be serious. F3 has a right to go for the ball. If the throw draws him into the runner it's incidental contact while making a baseball play. Both players doing the right thing and occupying the same space. How about you explain why F3 has no right to move to make a play on an errant throw. I'm sure we would all learn something new.


Coach Paul:

Correct if I am wrong but doesn't H.S. baseball in Massachusetts use OBR instead of NFHS?

MTD, Sr.

Rich Ives Wed Apr 20, 2016 11:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachPaul (Post 986552)
Why? You can't be serious. F3 has a right to go for the ball. If the throw draws him into the runner it's incidental contact while making a baseball play. Both players doing the right thing and occupying the same space. How about you explain why F3 has no right to move to make a play on an errant throw. I'm sure we would all learn something new.

Because he can't hinder the runner if he doesn't have the ball (FED and LL). NCAA says F3 can't block the base.

Where is F3 positioned that he is able to block the base by dropping a knee.

In higher level ball the second time he tries it the runner may come back feet first. :)

bob jenkins Thu Apr 21, 2016 07:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachPaul (Post 986552)
Why? You can't be serious. F3 has a right to go for the ball. If the throw draws him into the runner it's incidental contact while making a baseball play. Both players doing the right thing and occupying the same space. How about you explain why F3 has no right to move to make a play on an errant throw. I'm sure we would all learn something new.

Case play 8.3.2K (any typos are mine): F6 fields a ground ball and throws to F3 in an attempt to retire B1 at first. The ball is thrown wide. As F3 lunges toward the ball, F3 collides with B1, knocking him to the ground prior to possessing the ball (a) while B1 is short of first base. Ruling: (a) Obstruction.

Sure -- the case play is a grounder, and this thread is dealing with a pickoff. But, the concept is the same -- the fielder (in FED) does not have the "right to go for the (thrown) ball."

CT1 Thu Apr 21, 2016 09:52am

Or, to put it another way:

The defense screwed up by making a bad throw. An attempt to catch that bad throw doesn't give a fielder the "right" to obstruct a runner.

thumpferee Thu Apr 21, 2016 12:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachPaul (Post 986552)
Why? You can't be serious. F3 has a right to go for the ball. If the throw draws him into the runner it's incidental contact while making a baseball play. Both players doing the right thing and occupying the same space. How about you explain why F3 has no right to move to make a play on an errant throw. I'm sure we would all learn something new.

As others have confirmed, I am serious.

F3 has every right to move to make a play on an errant throw, he just can't obstruct the runner when doing so. As CT1 said, the defense screwed up and made a bad throw. You can't penalize the runner for for a defensive error.

And, you may not believe this either, he is awarded 2nd base on the obstruction!

Yes, even if he was going back to 1st.

Nothing NEW!

Benchcoach Thu Apr 21, 2016 10:36pm

:confused:
Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 986554)
In higher level ball the second time he tries it the runner may come back feet first. :)

RI has wandered into what happened next. F3 used his thigh to block the entire return to the bag. After having achieved a pick off. The frustrated 1b coach was over heard to tell his next runner to slide back feet first. FU warned coach if such a return did occur, he would eject coach and player. F3 continued the maneuver throughout the game but did not achieve any more pick offs.

bob jenkins Fri Apr 22, 2016 08:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Benchcoach (Post 986588)
:confused:

RI has wandered into what happened next. F3 used his thigh to block the entire return to the bag. After having achieved a pick off. The frustrated 1b coach was over heard to tell his next runner to slide back feet first. FU warned coach if such a return did occur, he would eject coach and player. F3 continued the maneuver throughout the game but did not achieve any more pick offs.

I've never seen that (at least not intentionally). All who have tried this use the lower leg.

Benchcoach Fri Apr 22, 2016 09:14am

Bob:
Poor typing, I meant lower leg. Typed thigh because that what was most visible.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Fri Apr 22, 2016 11:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Benchcoach (Post 986588)
:confused:

RI has wandered into what happened next. F3 used his thigh to block the entire return to the bag. After having achieved a pick off. The frustrated 1b coach was over heard to tell his next runner to slide back feet first. FU warned coach if such a return did occur, he would eject coach and player. F3 continued the maneuver throughout the game but did not achieve any more pick offs.


Nowhere in the NFHS Baseball Rules will you find a rule that defines when and when not a Runner can slide feet first into a Base.

MTD, Sr.

Benchcoach Fri Apr 22, 2016 01:34pm

True about rule but I am certain FU saw it as a safety issue. Wanting to teach a kid a lesson would not justify harming him. It would have been real easy to break F3's ankle. It would also be morally repugnant and unethical.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Fri Apr 22, 2016 04:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Benchcoach (Post 986620)
True about rule but I am certain FU saw it as a safety issue. Wanting to teach a kid a lesson would not justify harming him. It would have been real easy to break F3's ankle. It would also be morally repugnant and unethical.


Coach:

Your bucket of reasons for penalizing R1 is leaking worse than the Titantic. If R1 effects a legal slide and during such a legal slide makes contact with F3, there is no infraction of the rules, even if F3 is injured. Stop trying to enforce a rule that does not exist.

MTD, Sr.

john5396 Sat Apr 23, 2016 01:52pm

the slide has to be legal.

That means butt cheek and one leg on the ground. I cant envision a case where the slide is legal but still rises in my judgment to malicious contact. I guess there could be a case when you judge intent to harm even when the slide is legal.

Matt Sat Apr 23, 2016 09:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by john5396 (Post 986646)
the slide has to be legal.

That means butt cheek and one leg on the ground. I cant envision a case where the slide is legal but still rises in my judgment to malicious contact. I guess there could be a case when you judge intent to harm even when the slide is legal.

Go for it. Let me know how that goes for you.

scrounge Sun Apr 24, 2016 09:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by john5396 (Post 986646)
the slide has to be legal.

That means butt cheek and one leg on the ground. I cant envision a case where the slide is legal but still rises in my judgment to malicious contact. I guess there could be a case when you judge intent to harm even when the slide is legal.

Fairly easy to envision such a case....an otherwise legal slide coming in spikes high could easily be MC.

Rich Ives Sun Apr 24, 2016 09:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by scrounge (Post 986669)
Fairly easy to envision such a case....an otherwise legal slide coming in spikes high could easily be MC.

No need for high spikes - F3's leg is on the ground. :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1