The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Walk-Off, I think (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/100019-walk-off-i-think.html)

MOofficial Mon Aug 10, 2015 05:53pm

Walk-Off, I think
 
I have a feeling this is correct, however, I would like the rules gurus to post the rule. Please see the link below to the video as I do not know how to imbed videos. Thanks!

MLB Tonight on D-backs' walk-off | MLB.com

DG Mon Aug 10, 2015 08:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MOofficial (Post 965749)
I have a feeling this is correct, however, I would like the rules gurus to post the rule. Please see the link below to the video as I do not know how to imbed videos. Thanks!

MLB Tonight on D-backs' walk-off | MLB.com

More likely an interp. If batter reaches 1b and r3 touches home, game over. Walk off hit, outfield playing shallow since any long fly ball scores R3 easily, even if caught, with one out.

Rich Mon Aug 10, 2015 08:16pm

The guard / groundskeeper handled the ball.

Now it's an award. Only R3 and the BR have to advance on an award in MLB.

Had the player retrieved it....it would've been Merkle's Boner, 2015 version.

umpjim Mon Aug 10, 2015 08:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DG (Post 965751)
More likely an interp. If batter reaches 1b and r3 touches home, game over. Walk off hit, outfield playing shallow since any long fly ball scores R3 easily, even if caught, with one out.

So on any batted ball the forced runners don't have to touch their advance base? Or is it any batted ball that everyone agrees is a walk off?
What interp is that?
Actually there is a poorly written rule that only requires the BR and R3 to touch on an award or "other play". That rule then has an interp that it doesn't apply on a batted ball.
Umps got taken off the hook by the security guard.

JJ Mon Aug 10, 2015 09:04pm

On an AWARDED base only R3 and the BR need to advance and touch. On a BATTED ball (base hit) EVERYONE needs to advance.

JJ

Rich Mon Aug 10, 2015 09:51pm

Yup. When the security guard picked it up....

DG Mon Aug 10, 2015 11:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by umpjim (Post 965753)
So on any batted ball the forced runners don't have to touch their advance base? Or is it any batted ball that everyone agrees is a walk off?
What interp is that?
Actually there is a poorly written rule that only requires the BR and R3 to touch on an award or "other play". That rule then has an interp that it doesn't apply on a batted ball.
Umps got taken off the hook by the security guard.

Game ending only. MLBUM 4.11 and rule 4.09b in 2014 book, 5.08b in the new recodified 2015 book. On any game ending play, walk, or hit batter with bases loaded R3 must touch home and BR must touch 1b before game ends. Security guard pickup appears irrelevant.

umpjim Mon Aug 10, 2015 11:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DG (Post 965756)
Game ending only. MLBUM 4.11 and rule 4.09b, although the rule reference is from 2014 book. I don't know where it is in the new recodified 2015 book just yet. If R3 scored and BR touched 1b when guard picked up the ball, he is just cleaning up the field, otherwise fan interference and result is the same.

So when, with 1 out, with bases loaded, a ground ball is hit to F5 and due to convenience, he steps on 3B and throws to the closest base for the force at 2B the runner from third scores because he and the BR touched their proper bases?

Rich Ives Tue Aug 11, 2015 09:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by umpjim (Post 965757)
So when, with 1 out, with bases loaded, a ground ball is hit to F5 and due to convenience, he steps on 3B and throws to the closest base for the force at 2B the runner from third scores because he and the BR touched their proper bases?

No.

When the winning run is scored in the last half-inning of a regulation game, or in
the last half of an extra inning, as the result of a base on balls, hit batter or any other
play with the bases full which forces the runner on third to advance, the umpire
shall not declare the game ended until the runner forced to advance from third has
touched home base and the batter-runner has touched first base.


Once F5 touches 3B R3 is no longer forced. It then reverts to the normal "run can't score when" exceptions.

umpjim Tue Aug 11, 2015 09:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 965766)
No.

When the winning run is scored in the last half-inning of a regulation game, or in
the last half of an extra inning, as the result of a base on balls, hit batter or any other
play with the bases full which forces the runner on third to advance, the umpire
shall not declare the game ended until the runner forced to advance from third has
touched home base and the batter-runner has touched first base.


Once F5 touches 3B R3 is no longer forced. It then reverts to the normal "run can't score when" exceptions.


So in the OP, the outfielder without security guard interference could not run down the ball and throw to 3B for a force on a runner who did not advance?

Welpe Tue Aug 11, 2015 10:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by umpjim (Post 965767)
So in the OP, the outfielder without security guard interference could not run down the ball and throw to 3B for a force on a runner who did not advance?

Correct.

Note the penalty in 5.08 (4.09):

PENALTY: If the runner on third refuses to advance to
and touch home base in a reasonable time, the umpire
shall disallow the run, call out the offending player and
order the game resumed. If, with two out, the batter-runner
refuses to advance to and touch first base, the
umpire shall disallow the run, call out the offending
player, and order the game resumed. If, before two are
out, the batter-runner refuses to advance to and touch
first base, the run shall count, but the offending player
shall be called out.


In this play, the only runner that needed to touch his base was the R3 touching home to score the run. The BR didn't even need to advance to first since there were less than two outs.

This is different from Fed, which requires all runners to touch (9-1-1 Note 2).

That video needs a "raving lunatic commentator" label on it.

umpjim Tue Aug 11, 2015 10:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 965768)
Correct.

Note the penalty in 5.08 (4.09):

PENALTY: If the runner on third refuses to advance to
and touch home base in a reasonable time, the umpire
shall disallow the run, call out the offending player and
order the game resumed. If, with two out, the batter-runner
refuses to advance to and touch first base, the
umpire shall disallow the run, call out the offending
player, and order the game resumed. If, before two are
out, the batter-runner refuses to advance to and touch
first base, the run shall count, but the offending player
shall be called out.

Wendelstedt says the when the ball is batted all runners must touch their advance bases. 5.08 (4.09) only apply to awarded bases. BRD says that rule only applies when runners are not in peril of being call out.

Wendelstedt says that when a batted ball is put into play all runners must touch their advance base. 5.08 (4.09) only applies to awarded bases. The BRD says that that rule applies only when runners are not in peril of being called out.


In this play, the only runner that needed to touch his base was the R3 touching home to score the run. The BR didn't even need to advance to first since there were less than two outs.

This is different from Fed, which requires all runners to touch (9-1-1 Note 2).

That video needs a "raving lunatic commentator" label on it.

Wendelstedt says that when the ball is batted all forced runners must touch their advance base. 5.08 (4.09) only apply for walks and HBP. BRD says the rule does not apply when runners are in peril of being called out.

Welpe Tue Aug 11, 2015 11:05am

Please post citations from both.

Tim C Tue Aug 11, 2015 11:40am

DG I'm sorry but you just had a big swing a miss.

The OBR are quite specific in the difference between an awarded bass and runners that are advanced through a hit.

Think Merkel's boner.

rich identified early the issue was completely ball being handled by a Nonplaying employee – that ended any hope of any appeals.

there are many references available concerning the umpires press conference explanaio

umpjim Tue Aug 11, 2015 11:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 965770)
Please post citations from both.

I don't have a current BRD but a poster on another site quoted this from the BRD:

"In such a game-ending situation, where runners advance without peril of an out, only the runner from third and the batter-runner are required to advance and touch the next base (4.09b). - page 36."

My 2010 WUM on page 81 has this:

"This requirement for only the runner from third and the batter-runner to advance to their bases, only applies in this situation. With bases full, if runners are forced to advance by reason of the batter putting the ball in play, or because of an uncaught third strike, all runners will be required to advance and touch their next base in order for the game to be ended. If they do not advance to their next bases before defense puts them out...for the third out, no runs will score."

The first sentence refers the situation of a winning run walked in or by HBP.

Whether the current PBUC umpire school agrees with Wendelstedt and whether Wendelstedt still teaches it I don't know.

MD Longhorn Tue Aug 11, 2015 01:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DG (Post 965756)
Game ending only. MLBUM 4.11 and rule 4.09b in 2014 book, 5.08b in the new recodified 2015 book. On any game ending play, walk, or hit batter with bases loaded R3 must touch home and BR must touch 1b before game ends. Security guard pickup appears irrelevant.

Except for the word "play" ... you are right until the last sentence...

If the security guard doesn't pick up the ball, and a fielder does... all you have is a force out at 2nd base.

DG Tue Aug 11, 2015 08:02pm

I think the security guard picking up the ball is not relevant because by the time he did BR has touched 1b and R3 has touched home and game is over.

Rich Tue Aug 11, 2015 10:01pm

Forced runner must advance on a batted ball.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

umpjim Tue Aug 11, 2015 10:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 965773)
Except for the word "play" ... you are right until the last sentence...

If the security guard doesn't pick up the ball, and a fielder does... all you have is a force out at 2nd base.

You also might have an appealed force out at 3B if you think R2 missed it before the appeal at 2B.

MD Longhorn Wed Aug 12, 2015 08:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by umpjim (Post 965783)
You also might have an appealed force out at 3B if you think R2 missed it before the appeal at 2B.

Except that they immediately threw it to, and touched, second base.

umpjim Wed Aug 12, 2015 09:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 965785)
Except that they immediately threw it to, and touched, second base.

Again using Wendestedt, in OBR the order of forced base appeals does not matter. If the force existed at the time of the miss it is a forced base appeal. From the video it looks like R3 peeled off before getting to 3B before 2B was tagged. But, an academic exercise due to the security guard.

MD Longhorn Wed Aug 12, 2015 09:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by umpjim (Post 965786)
Again using Wendestedt, in OBR the order of forced base appeals does not matter. If the force existed at the time of the miss it is a forced base appeal. From the video it looks like R3 peeled off before getting to 3B before 2B was tagged. But, an academic exercise due to the security guard.

I guess what I was trying to say was that if the events happened just as they actually happened in the video, but it was a fielder who retrieved the ball instead of the guard, we simply have a force out at 2nd. I was not commenting on other plays that might have been available ... I was only commenting on what the ruling would be given what they actually did, only changing the person that retrieved the ball.

ozzy6900 Thu Aug 13, 2015 10:51am

I don't see what the confusion in this video is all about. In OBR, the lead runner must advance and touch home and the batter runner must touch 1st base. The other runners do not matter and the game is over. The security guard picking up the ball and the appeals are a mute point..... the game is over! What is so hard to understand? Why all the what if this and that?

MD Longhorn Thu Aug 13, 2015 10:55am

Ozzy... if the security guard doesn't get the ball (killing play)... and it's just a fielder relaying the ball in...

The force out at 2nd (after all, this is just a batted ball, and fielders got the ball to 2nd before the runner got there ... admittedly slowly - but that's really irrelevant) would nullify any run (if that out was the 3rd out... something that is not entirely clear from the OP).

2 outs, bases loaded. Ball hit to F7 on the ground, who fields it cleanly, and notices the runner from first has fallen to the ground injured - so throws it to 2nd after BR passes first, and after R1 touches home... this is a force out - no run. The OP (If the security guard doesn't get the ball) is no different.

umpjim Thu Aug 13, 2015 11:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ozzy6900 (Post 965806)
I don't see what the confusion in this video is all about. In OBR, the lead runner must advance and touch home and the batter runner must touch 1st base. The other runners do not matter and the game is over. The security guard picking up the ball and the appeals are a mute point..... the game is over! What is so hard to understand? Why all the what if this and that?

On a batted ball you are incorrect. Or do you think the Wendelstedt school is wrong?

bwburke94 Sun Aug 16, 2015 10:04am

According to Wendelstedt, the appeal at third base was a force because the runner was forced at the time he "missed" the base. Provided that both appeals were valid, the run should not have scored.

DG Mon Aug 17, 2015 05:17pm

After a re-read of MLBUM 4.11 and OBR 5.08, and searching out Wendlestedt's explanation I have come to the conclusion that the words "shall not declare the game ended until" is quite different than "the game ends when". Wendlestedt is clear (p 78) that runners "will be required to advance and touch their next base in order for the game to be ended."

soundedlikeastrike Mon Aug 31, 2015 10:57pm

Reminds me of one those: "Ever body knows that commercials.."
That's what a walk off looks like.
Out field in, over your head or just to deep, we give.
Quite common.

I don't like his explanation, but they got it right.

From NBC:
Umpire Larry Varner provided an official explanation after the game:

“There are two or three different rules that come into play in game-ending type situations. Now you’re talking about appealing bases. 4.09(b) talks about how a run scores and it also gets tied into game-ending situations. Let’s say the bases are loaded and you get ball four. The guy on third has to come and score and the batter has to go and touch first. If they don’t fulfill those two obligations, someone can be called out for that and the game continues with two outs. We didn’t have that situation, but that’s what they were asking. Then they were asking, ‘Can we throw it around and tag all the bases and get force outs?’ In that situation you can’t. First of all, they didn’t play the ball. The infielders were leaving the infield. The runner from third touched the plate and the runner from the plate touched first. Those two things right there met the obligation of the rule. When that run scores and the batter has touched first, the game’s over.”

Welpe Tue Sep 01, 2015 12:29am

Sounds like those MLB umpires better go back to Wendelstedt. ;)

I wonder if MLB came out with an official interp internally?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1