The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 28, 2003, 12:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 19
Question

I was recently told by an ump that on an infield fly rule, runners do not have to retouch the base if the player does not actually catch the ball. We were specifically discussing FED rules and I cited

2-19.1 2nd paragraph

"(See 8-4-1j for batter being out and right of base runner to advance after retouching his base.)"

His opinion was that this "retouching" is assuming that the ball will be caught.

My argument was that it doesn't matter if the ball is actually caught or not, that the play evolves as if it was caught and therefore retouching is required.

Thoughts?
__________________
Fred
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1