The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 08, 2003, 01:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 1,037
I saw this last year in FED JV/HS and I'm sure I'll see it again. Has anyone else seen this, and what do you think.

Runner on 1st, RH pitcher, starts his stretch closed (in line with plate and rubber)and comes to set in open set (non-pivot foot towards 1st).

For a LH pitcher, starts stretch open, and finishes closed.

If a pitcher starts open, should he finish open?

And, if a pitcher starts closed, should he finish closed?

I have not seen a rule or case involving this particular move, I was just wondering if any would think of this as a step toward 1st?



__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 08, 2003, 01:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,184
Quote:
Originally posted by thumpferee
I saw this last year in FED JV/HS and I'm sure I'll see it again. Has anyone else seen this, and what do you think.

Runner on 1st, RH pitcher, starts his stretch closed (in line with plate and rubber)and comes to set in open set (non-pivot foot towards 1st).

For a LH pitcher, starts stretch open, and finishes closed.

If a pitcher starts open, should he finish open?

And, if a pitcher starts closed, should he finish closed?

I have not seen a rule or case involving this particular move, I was just wondering if any would think of this as a step toward 1st?



I think the FED interps of a few years ago had a similar situation -- and they called it a balk.

I'd tend not to see it, unless it was accompanied by some other movement, or the movement was more like a "step" than just a "stretch".

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 08, 2003, 03:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 813
A RHF1 is allowed to start open and set open, merely shortening the distance between his feet if he desires. Although if he engages the rubber in an open stance he is not supposed to be allowed to close the stance during the setting motion, yet few if any will balk that action. Little advantage is gained.

But as Bob states, to start with a closed stance and then to open his foot toward 1B during the setting motion would likely appear as a step to the base and likely should be balked.


Just my opinion,

Freix

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 09, 2003, 05:59pm
Prince
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
OBR allows F1 engaged with the rubber in the set position, but before coming set, to check the runner at 1B by turning his shoulders. In FED, this is a balk. As a result, many pitchers in HS games will start in an open position and come set in an open position to be able to check the runner without turning the shoulders. In OBR games, I rarely see this.

Prince
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1