The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 07, 2003, 01:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 36
I’m hoping to have some input on yet another question surrounding balks.

Situation is Pony Baseball, 13 - 14 yo's playing under OBR's. OBR 8.01 (b) states "From such Set Position he may deliver the ball to the batter, throw to a base or step backward off the pitcher's plate with his pivot foot."

Question surrounds the word "may". Doesn't say "must". Specifically, MUST the pitcher have to step BACKWARDS off the pitcher's plate to become a fielder? Can a pitcher first move his pivot foot towards 3rd or towards 1st to disengage from the pitchers plate and become a fielder - as long as he doesn't go forward (toward home plate)?

If he MUST is there another OBR rule that supports it? If so please provide it.

Thanks in advance for your opinions.




Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1