The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 24, 2003, 12:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 769
Had this situation...Team A has a spot throw in on the baseline in their BC out towards the sideline. A1 makes a long pass to A2 at the division line. A2 catches it with one foot in and one foot OOB. I told R to award spot throw in at div line because I interpreted that A2 caused the ball to be OOB. He violently disagreed and ordered ball inbounded on baseline. Besides making me look like an idiot, it gave B and advantage in that there was 1.9 seconds left in the first half and they were able to inbound the ball and make a last second 3. At the half we discussed it. We agreed as to what happened in that A2 caught the in bound pass with one foot in and one foot OOB. He said the ball was never inbounds and had to go to the original spot. I told him my interpretation was that A2 had caused the ball to go OOB and therfore it wasn't a thow in violation. Rule 7-6 supports my interpretation. What is the correct spot of the succeeding throw in and rule reference (NFHS). Thanks in advance.

Mregor

[Edited by Mregor on Feb 24th, 2003 at 11:03 AM]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1