The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 29, 2000, 08:06pm
JC JC is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 28
Post

NCAA allows throwing elbows without contact to be a violation (NCAA 9.12) while NF considers it a Technical Foul (NF 10.8.g).

My question is about counting or not counting a basket in NCAA when elbows are thrown without contact near the time a shot is taken.

NCAA 6.7.Exception 4
"The ball does not become dead until the try or tap ends when ...(4) the ball is in flight on a try or tap for field goal by a player toward his or her basket or duing a free throw when an opponent swings his or her arm(s) or elbows(s) excessively without making contact. When the shooter, tapper, or his or her teammates commit this infraction, the ball becomes dead immediately."

It seems to me that this would disallow a basket if the defense swung elbows while the offense was in the act of shooting, but had not released the shot.
On the other hand, if my teammate swung his elbows after I released my shot, but before the ball went in, my goal would be cancelled.

Why is the exception for swinging elbows not the same as the foul exception?

Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1