The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 10, 2006, 02:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 163
I'm having problems understanding the NFHS rule 2-10 covering correctable errors. 2.10.4 seems to conflict with 2.10.5. I am probably making it too complicated, so I need help.

2.10.4: If the error is a free throw by the wrong player or at the wrong basket, or the awarding of an unmerited free throw, the free throw and the activity during it, other than unsporting, flagrant, intentional or technical fouls, shall be canceled

States the free throw and the activity during it....shall be canceled.

2.10.5: Points scored, consumed time and additional activity, which may occur prior to the recognition of an error, shall not be nullified. Errors because of free-throw attempts by the wrong player or at the wrong basket shall be corrected by applying 8-1 and 2.

states Points scored, ........shall not be nullified.

Seems like art. 4 says the activity during the free throw shall be canceled, but art. 5 says points scored shall not be nullified.

Does this mean that points are not part of the activity of a free throw?

HELP!!!!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1