The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 16, 2006, 11:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Central Wisconsin
Posts: 1,069
Directly under Team A's basket, A1 is fouled by B1 (contact on the arm) while attempting an underhand scoop shot. During continuation of the try, the ball traveled through the basket from the bottom, hit the backboard and then fell back through the hoop.

What is the correct ruling?
A. Foul, try is successful, award two points and a free throw.
B. Foul, try became dead when it enters basket from below, award two free throws.

Rule 5-1 does not specifically address a ball traveling through the basket from below prior to entering it from above.

Rule 6-7 does not specifically address situation, other than to confirm "with continuation" the ball does not become dead until the try ends.
__________________
"Stay in the game!"
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1