Quote:
Originally posted by sm_bbcoach
I would like to ask you to help me with a rule:
Batter hits the ball, runs to 1st base. Safely steps on base and then turns to the left, and walks back to 1st base.
IF he is touched with the ball, is he out? Is it the opion of the umpire to determine if he has made an attempt to go to 2nd?
Is it good coaching to have the runner always turn to the right (towards foul teritory) so the umpire does not have to make a determination?
Thanks on ALL accounts for your help.
|
If he makes no attempt to advance hie is not out if tagged. Yes, it is the opinion of the umpire. He can turn to the right and still make an attempt after the turn, so I don't think it matters. It is good coaching to tell the runner to run through the bag and not make an attempt unless the 1B coach says GO.
I had one last night, BR runs down the line, ball gets by 1B man, coach says GO, he turns toward 2B plants his foot and it shoots out from under him on the wet grass and he goes straight down on top the 1B line. He casually gets up, walks back toward 1B, 1B man gets within 2 feet of him with the ball and does not try to tag him. I got an out if he does, because he tried to plant and turn, but slipped and fell. It's my opinion that he would be out if tagged.