The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 05, 2005, 02:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 37
I know that the ball is oob if it passes over the backboard from either direction. Thought I read somewhere that the ball had to pass "directly" over the backboard. I'm having trouble interpreting what directly means.
Situation 1
In NCAA D-1 final game an Illinois missed fg attempt during the closing minutes appeared to hit the rim and bound over the left corner of the backboard and travel about 2 feet from the left edge of the board.I think the ball even rolled on the top of the board for a while. There was no call. The camera did not follow the ball completely
so it was hard to judge the path of the ball. Let's pretend that it did happen as described. Is this oob?
Situation 2
Similar situation. A1 is 2 inches from the baseline and 10 feet from the rim and shoots the ball over the corner of the backboard. Legal or not?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1