![]() |
|
|||
I have a question. I am coaching a 5th/6th grade team in Kentucky that uses the Kentucky High School rules as its basis for its own rules. My father coaches in Indiana at the High School level and I seem to remember several years back that they did away with a five second rule. I can't remember if it was closely guarded, stopped dribble, or what. I tried to tell an official about it after he called something on one of my players and he said I was crazy. I was not sure if I misheard, or if Kentucky HS rules are different, or if I was correct. Can anyone please help me with this? Thanks.
|
|
|||
Okay, thanks! Maybe I was thinking about something maybe like 5 seconds holding the ball BEFORE you dribble? Is there a rule about that? I mean, can you hold the ball for only 5 seconds closely guarded before you dribble? Or can you hold that as long as you want and then once you dribble it is 5 and 5 closesly guarded?
|
|
|||
![]() Quote:
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
Quote:
Couldn't help myself. ![]() Mark Padgett gave you the rule. It's been the same way since the 70's or early 80's. Long time iow. |
|
|||
Re: Womans NCAA
Quote:
|
|
|||
Thanks everybody. I really appreciate the help. I got on the web and noticed that there was some chatter at the April NFHS meetings about doing away with some of the 5 second rules, but that no action was taken.
|
|
|||
Well here in the Edmonton area (no laughter please) we use federation mechanics with NCAA rules with modifications. The 5 second closely guarded rule applies only in the front court and only while the ball is held, not dribbled. Now throw in a little FIBA - no handle in the back court....well you get the idea.
Keith |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Btw, welcome to the forum. |
|
|||
One thing that has changed about counting 5-seconds regards the inbound. It used to be that once the inbounder had the ball, the inbounds pass had to be touched on the court within five seconds. Now the inbounds pass merely has to be released within five seconds.
Doesn't sounds like that's what you're talking about, but I thought I'd throw it out there.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
|
|||
This kinda goes along with this topic so I thought I'd better put it in here istead of a new thread.
I run the scoreboard in adult league and this call was made and argued vehemently. There was about a minute to go in the game and A1 had passed the ball in to A2. A2 holds the ball but no one on Team B comes out to guard him. After 5 seconds the official calls him for what he explain as "5 second held ball rule", saying that you couldn't hold the ball for 5 seconds no matter if closely guarded or not. Is this the correct call? |
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|