The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 18, 2004, 11:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
I think I know the answer to this - just want to be sure. Player A is driving to the basket and shoots. The shot is blocked cleanly by player B - it's clearly not going to go into the basket - then player B's follow through after the block causes some contact (not severe) on player A's shooting arm. Since the shot ended as soon as it was clearly not going into the basket, I deemed the resulting contact as inadvertent, since it bore no advantage/disadvantage. Correct interpretation?

Along the same lines, same situation, but after the block, player B's momentum carries his body into Player A while player A was still in the air, plowing him over. Clearly a foul. Because the shot was blocked prior to the contact, therefore causing the shot attempt to end, I assume this would not be a foul against a shooter as the shot had ended at the block. Just a common foul with ball out of bounds or bonus shots. Correct?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1