The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 16, 2004, 10:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 32
Worked with umpire last night who I thought had at least a few years experience. We were discussing the infield fly rule. He told me that on infield fly call, runner or runners on base must retouch their base before advancing to next base when the ball is not caught or is dropped. In other words, on infield fly, runner at second base takes three or four steps off 2B waiting for ball to come down. Ball is not caught or is dropped. The umpire I worked with said that runner at 2B has to go back and touch 2B before considering advancement to 3B. I thought that the runner could just take off for next base and not retouch base on a dropped infield fly (same as an uncaught or dropped fly ball to outfield). Please tell me that I am correct since that was my understanding of the rule during the entire high school season.

[Edited by Stair-Climber on Jun 16th, 2004 at 11:24 PM]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1