Quote:
Originally posted by Bart Tyson
HS rules, Player enters, then subs out. Horn, player not in the book. Coach says I'm not going to play her again. Do we make the book correct?
|
This is usually dangerous ground on this board, but I'm going to disagree with all of the responses so far. It is not too late to penalize this offense after the team member leaves the game. Here's why:
I believe that once a team member participates in the game they must be entered into the scorebook.
I can point out two items in the NFHS books to back this:
1. According to 2-11-1 the scorer must "Keep a record or the
names and numbers of players who are to start the game and of all substitutes who enter the game."
2. 3.2.2 situation C Ruling: "Number 14 became a player when the ball became live, however, since his or her name and number must now be entered into the scorebook, a technical foul is charged to Team A.
Therefore, since this team member played the scorer must now enter his/her name and number into the book (the required record) and at the time this is done is the proper time to charge a technical foul to this team. If the ball is put back into play and becomes live again after the change is made to the book without the technical foul being charged, then it is too late to penalize. This is all according to 10-1-2b,c,d and the penalty paragraph at the end of 10-1. It states "(Arts. 1, 2b, c, d) Penalized when they occur." This means when THE CHANGE IS MADE, not when the player is in the game.
This is not to be confused with 10-1-6 (having more than five participating), 10-3-1 (participate after changing number and not reporting it to the scorer and an official), or 10-3-2 (wear an illegal number, shirt, or pants), which are "penalized if discovered while being violated" for the first two and "penalized one time if discovered prior to [the] ball becoming live for each designated starter and each substitue who enters."
The crux of the matter is that once the team member becomes a player the scorer must properly record their name and number, if the scorebook must be changed because either the name or the number is incorrect or absent that is a team technical foul. 10-1-2b,c,d
In the play given, the scorer is clearly not doing his job of recording this information for each team member. It should have been noticed earlier, but just because it was not, does not mean, in this particular case, that the team escapes the penalty.