The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2003, 10:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Arctic Circle
Posts: 112
Send a message via Yahoo to JohnBark
Question

i'm a newbie again after about a 10 year lay off. a quick and interesting question, i wanted to ask you veterans.

A1 is OB and about to throw-in the ball. A1 reach with the ball inbounds, thus breaking the plane. why isn't it a volation on A1 for the player (A1) being out of bounds and the ball being awarded to Team B for A1 being out of bounds while holding the ball?

is it because the ball is dead and not yet a live ball?

thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2003, 10:55pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,548
Lightbulb Short answer.

Because it isn't.

You need to look at your definitions and what is out of bounds and what it does not say.

Live and dead ball does not play a part here.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2003, 10:58pm
oc oc is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 322
The ball is not inbounds until it touches the floor, backboard or someone who is inbounds. In your scenario the ball is live but still oob the whole time. A1 is legally oob.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2003, 11:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by oc
The ball is not inbounds until it touches the floor, backboard or someone who is inbounds. In your scenario the ball is live but still oob the whole time. A1 is legally oob.
Also, the thrower is legally OOB> If a defender touches or grabs the ball, it's legal and A1 does not cause the ball to be OOB.

But if A2 touches it....
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 15, 2003, 03:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Idaho
Posts: 1,474
Thumbs down Ooooh Noooo!!!!!

Tony,
how could you even suggest starting that conversation again?
__________________
"There are no superstar calls. We don't root for certain teams. We don't cheat. But sometimes we just miss calls." - Joe Crawford
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 15, 2003, 10:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Re: Ooooh Noooo!!!!!

Quote:
Originally posted by DownTownTonyBrown
Tony,
how could you even suggest starting that conversation again?
Whaaa?

If A2 touches the ball, it's a violation, as the ball must be passed, not handed to a teammate.

Not sure what you were thinking.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 16, 2003, 12:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 13
OK, slight variation on the subject. A1 is inbounding the ball. A2 steps OOB to take A1's spot to throw the ball in. A1 hands the ball to A2 while both are OOB. The other night my partner called a throw in violation for this exact situation. I didn't get a chance to talk with him after the game about his call. Help me out here, was there a violation and if so what was it? To me it looked like team A simply wanted to change the throw in person.
__________________
Paul
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 16, 2003, 12:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ten Mile, Tn
Posts: 236
If this was a spot throw-in, your partner was correct. It is illegal to replace the thrower.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 16, 2003, 12:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by pbrad59
OK, slight variation on the subject. A1 is inbounding the ball. A2 steps OOB to take A1's spot to throw the ball in. A1 hands the ball to A2 while both are OOB. The other night my partner called a throw in violation for this exact situation. I didn't get a chance to talk with him after the game about his call. Help me out here, was there a violation and if so what was it? To me it looked like team A simply wanted to change the throw in person.
This is one of those had-to-be-there things. If this is 7th grade girls, and the coach is yelling, "No, let Ashley take it out! Kiesha, you need to get to the high post! Ashley! You go get the ball, and take it out!!" etc and the girls have no clue, and you probably shouldn't have handed it off so soon, you blow your whistle, take the ball back and start over. If it's varsity boys state championship game, you call the violation. The line between call and do-over is in the middle somewhere, and you're the only one who can decide where.

Also remember that after a made basket, this is legal, as long as neither player "carries the ball inbounds."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1