Quote:
Originally Posted by jump stop
Potato : The rule does not say "you can jump off o pivot foot" it says if you "catch the ball while dribbling or moving with one foot on floor , you may jump off this foot and land simultaneously on two"
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by potato
if you catch the ball with one foot on the floor, doesn't it already mean you have established a pivot on that foot, thus you are jumping off the pivot foot?
|
I think that his point was that the rule does not say you can jump off of your pivot foot but that you can jump off of the foot on the floor and land simultaneously. There actually can be no pivot foot on a true jump stop as 2. On one foot followed by the other, the first foot to touch is the pivot.
Not Your situation
3. On one foot, the player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both. Neither foot can be a pivot in this case.
This is the situation and there actually can not be a pivot foot The foot on the ground is just that and when you jump and land with both feet simultaneously no foot can be pivot.