View Single Post
  #44 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 26, 2013, 10:12am
Rob1968 Rob1968 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
Found it online. It was changed/added for the 05-06 season:
QUOTE: "PLAY 2: Thrower-in A-1 completes the throw-in to A-2 and then takes four or five steps along the boundary line prior to coming inbounds behind a screen set by A-3 and A-4.

Ruling: A-1 has committed a violation for failing to move DIRECTLY onto the court after the release of the ball. The violation ruling is NOT to be delayed until A-1 returns to the court. It is ruled a violation WHEN the delay OCCURS.

Remaining off the court or NOT going onto the court directly is similar to leaving the court for an unauthorized reason. In THIS case it should be obvious that A-1's movement, out of bounds, along the end line was to take advantage of the screen. "

Curiously, this Case Play is stated in Case Book 10.3.2 as penalized by a T.
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
Reply With Quote