View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 14, 2013, 05:01pm
Rich Ives Rich Ives is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
How did ASU get hosed? The runner stopped and took a hop backward as F3 went to tag her.
2" - BFD. A recovery to balance from the stop, not a deliberate step/hop back.

AND:

12.4.11 When she steps back toward home plate to avoid or delay a tag by a fielder.

As the tag was made essentially at the same time as the miniscule hop how was the rule violated?

And it took a conference of the umpires and only after the Washington coach brought it up? Not at all an obvious call.

And what purpose is served anyhow - protecting incompetent defenses? Runners can do it elsewhere and it doesn't affect play?
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong

Last edited by Rich Ives; Sun Apr 14, 2013 at 05:15pm.
Reply With Quote