Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn
R1 on first, no outs. Batter hits to left field. R1 rounds second large, but decides not to go. BR doesn't see R1 return and is also heading for 2nd.
R1 is obstructed by the SS returning to the base. Throw comes into 2nd base ahead of R1 (or R2 for that matter), R1 takes 3 steps toward 3rd, ball is thrown to F5. As the ball is thrown, BR continues to 2nd base. R1 returns toward 2nd, BR stays there. F5 throws to F4 as R1 slides in safely. F4 then tags BR.
Ruling?
|
I get the sense that you are posing a conundrum about who is entitled to the base. Should be first to acquire and not forced. So,
a.) did R1 "acquire" 2B by rounding and returning?
b.) Or does BR "acquire" by being already on the base when R1 returns?
I go with "a" and the previous posts, BR is OUT.