View Single Post
  #39 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 15, 2012, 08:56pm
APG's Avatar
APG APG is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
2012-2013 NFHS Basketball Interpretations

2012-13 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

Publisherís Note: The National Federation of State High School Associations is the only source of official high school interpretations. They do not set aside nor modify any rule. They are made and published by the NFHS in response to situations presented.

Robert B. Gardner, Publisher, NFHS Publications © 2012

SITUATION 1: While A1's free throw is in flight, B1, in a marked lane space, enters the lane. A1's free throw hits the ring and bounces straight up and hits a wire over the basket or hits the ring and goes over the backboard. RULING: The official should sound the whistle and call a violation on B1. A1 is given a substitute free throw. (9-1-4 Penalty 2b)

SITUATION 2: Team A has a designated spot throw-in along the end line. Thrower A1 extends the ball with his/her arms over the end line such that part of the forearms, hands and the ball are entirely on the inbounds side of the boundary line. B2 slaps A1 on the wrist and dislodges the ball. RULING: When a defender makes contact with a thrower-in, the result is an intentional foul. Where A1ís arms are located (on the inbounds or out-of-bounds side of the boundary line) is immaterial for this penalty to be assessed. A1 is awarded two free throws and Team A is awarded a throw-in at the spot nearest the foul. COMMENT: For a boundary-plane violation warning to also be assessed, the defender must actually violate the rule and penetrate the boundary plane. (4-19-3e; 4-47-1; 7-5-4b; 9-2-10 Penalty 4)

SITUATION 3: A1 is closely guarded by B1 for two seconds in Team Aís frontcourt. B2 then double-teams A1 and both B1 and B2 are closely guarding A1 for one second. B1 then drops off of A1 to cover another player. B2 continues to closely guard A1 for two more seconds. RULING: A1 has committed a violation since he/she was closely guarded continuously for a total of five seconds. (4-10; 9-10-1a)

SITUATION 4: A1 holds the ball for four seconds while B1 obtains a legal guarding position. A1 begins a dribble and does so for four seconds while B1 maintains a closely guarded position. A1 then holds the ball for four seconds while being closely guarded. RULING: There is no violation in this situation. Though closely guarded, A1 is legal in holding the ball for four seconds, then dribbling for four seconds and then holding the ball again for four seconds. (4-10; 4-23-1; 9-10-1a)

SITUATION 5: At half time, Team A is leading the game. A1, A2 and A3 are passing the ball among themselves to run time off the clock while not allowing Team B to gain control of the ball. B1 goes out and pushes A1 to stop the clock. The official calls a personal foul. RULING: Incorrect call. The foul was deliberate and should have been called an intentional foul. A1 should shoot two free throws and Team A should be awarded the ball for a throw-in at the spot nearest the foul. (4-19-3c)

SITUATION 6: As A1's try is in flight, A1, B1 and B2 get in position for a rebound. B1's back is against A1 as the rebound comes off the rim. B1 steps backwards and displaces A1 out of position by pushing/backing into him/her. B1 gains control of the rebound. RULING: Foul on B1. (4-7-1; 4-19-1)

SITUATION 7: Team A controls the ball in its backcourt and moves toward its frontcourt. A1 brings the ball into the frontcourt and immediately passes the ball to A2, who is posted low outside the lane, who then passes to A3 cutting across the lane. B1 is moving with A3 as he/she comes across the lane but has not established a legal guarding position. B1 uses his/her body to push A3 as a try is made. RULING: Foul on B1. (4-23-2)

SITUATION 8: Team A is hosting the contest. The official scorekeeper is wearing a red shirt to match that of the coaching staff of Team A. The referee of the officiating crew asks the scorekeeper to wear a vertically striped garment. The scorekeeper refuses to change his/her garment to honor the request of the official. RULING: The contest should be played and the situation reported to the school's administration and to the state office. COMMENT: There is not a penalty associated with this rule. The intent of the rule is to quickly identify the official scorekeeper at the table. (2-11-12)

SITUATION 9: Player A1 scores a field goal. Team B has the ball for an end line throw-in. Thrower-in B1 may move along the end line. A2 intentionally fouls B2 near the end line. Following the free throws, the official awards the ball to Team B and rules that Team B still has the privilege of moving along the end line. RULING: Incorrect call. The ensuing throw-in must be made from the designated spot. (Rule 7-5-4b)

SITUATION 10: Team A scores a field goal. B1 picks up the ball after the successful field goal, then proceeds out-of-bounds to start the throw-in effort. B1 moves along the end line while attempting to locate an open teammate. B1 releases the throw-in pass and the ball is kicked by A2 near the end line. The official rules a violation and awards Team B a designated spot throw-in. RULING: Incorrect call. Team B retains the right to move along the end line for the ensuing throw-in. (Rule 7-5-7b)

SITUATION 11: While the ball is in flight on a free throw by A1, A4 breaks the plane of the three-point line with his/her foot before the ball hits the ring, backboard or the free throw ends. RULING: A4 has committed a free-throw violation. The official should sound the whistle immediately and award the ball to Team B for a throw-in at a spot nearest the violation. (Rule 9-1-3f; 9-1-4 Penalty 1a)

SITUATION 12: A1 is holding the ball in her/his frontcourt. B1 moves to within 6 feet and stands and faces A1. The official does not apply the closely guarded rule because B1 is not playing aggressively. RULING: The official is incorrectly applying the closely guarded rule. The amount of movement or the actual body movement of B1 is irrelevant. (Rule 4-10)

SITUATION 13: A1 is dribbling the ball in the frontcourt and B1 assumes a legal, closely guarded position. A2 moves into a position to set a legal, on-ball screen on B1. B2, playing good defense, trails the screen and switches onto A1 as he comes off the screen, still dribbling the ball. RULING: The official should continue the closely guarded count and when the count reaches 5 seconds, sound the whistle and call a violation on A1. (9-10-2)
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.