View Single Post
  #38 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 15, 2012, 08:40pm
APG's Avatar
APG APG is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
2011-2012 NFHS Basketball Interpretations

2011-12 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations
Publishers Note: The National Federation of State High School Associations is the only source of official high school interpretations. They do not set aside nor modify any rule. They are made and published by the NFHS in response to situations presented.

Robert B. Gardner, Publisher, NFHS Publications 2011

Printing Error: Officials Manual: page 13, 1.4.1.B, sentence should read (delete struck through text):
B. Neither a team nor any player is ever in control during a dead ball, jump ball or throw-in, or when the ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal.

SITUATION 1: The officials are on the court prior to the game observing the team warm-ups. One official notices that a member of Team A is wearing a decorative feather in the hair. RULING: The official should inform the team member and/or coach that the feather shall be removed immediately. Upon compliance, the team member may continue to warm up with his or her teammates and may start the game without penalty. (3-5-4e)

SITUATION 2: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. The administering official reaches a four-second count when A1 passes the ball to A2, who had been standing in the free-throw lane since A1 had the ball at his/her disposal. RULING: Legal. Even though a team is now in control during a throw-in, the three-second rule specifically requires that a team be in control in its frontcourt for a violation to occur. Technically speaking, the thrower-in is out of bounds and not located in the frontcourt. (4-35-2; 9-7)

SITUATION 3: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her backcourt. The administering official reaches a four-second count when A1 passes the ball onto the court. A1s pass to A2, who is also in Team As backcourt, takes several bounces and six seconds before A2 picks up and controls the ball. RULING: Legal. Even though a team is now in control during a throw-in, the 10-second rule specifically requires that a player/team be in continuous control in its backcourt for 10 seconds for a violation to occur. Technically speaking, the thrower-in is out of bounds and not located in the backcourt. (4-35-2; 9-8)

SITUATION 4: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the free-throw line, is high, bounces several times and goes into Team As backcourt untouched. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team As backcourt. RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player and team control had not yet been established in Team As frontcourt before the ball went into Team As backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball in the backcourt and the backcourt count starts as soon as A2 gains control in his/her backcourt. (4-12-2d; 9-9)

SITUATION 5: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the division line, is high and deflects off A2s hand and goes into Team As backcourt. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team As backcourt. RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player and team control had not yet been established in Team As frontcourt before the ball went into Team As backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A2 gains control in his/her backcourt. (4-12-2d; 9-9)

SITUATION 6: After a made basket by Team B, A1 steps out of bounds, secures the ball, then sets it down and runs (out of bounds) to the other side of the key. A2 then steps out of bounds, picks up the ball and bounce-passes it to A1, who then inbounds the ball down court to A3. RULING: Legal activity provided the administering official has not reached a five-second count. (7-5-7)

SITUATION 7: A1 is out of bounds for a throw-in. B1 reaches through the boundary plane and contacts the ball while it is in A1s possession. RULING: A technical foul is assessed to B1. In addition to the technical foul, a throw-in boundary-plane warning is assessed and recorded since B1 actually penetrated the boundary-line plane before the throw-in pass was released. (4-47-1; 9-2-10 Penalty 3; 10-3-10).

SITUATION 8: Team A has a designated spot throw-in along the end line. Thrower A1 extends the ball with his/her arms over the end line such that part of the forearms, hands and the ball are entirely on the inbounds side of the boundary line. B2 slaps A1 on the wrist and dislodges the ball. RULING: When a defender makes contact with a thrower-in, the result is an intentional foul. Where A1s arms are located (on the inbounds or out-of-bounds side of the boundary line) is immaterial for this penalty to be assessed. A1 is awarded two free throws and Team A awarded a throw-in at the spot nearest the foul. COMMENT: For a boundary-plane violation warning to also be assessed, the defender must actually violate the rule and penetrate the boundary plane. (4-19-3e; 4-47-1; 7-5-4b; 9-2-10 Penalty 4)
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.