Quote:
Originally Posted by comical
Now I'm really confused.
So there would be a stoppage in NCAA? Just when I think things are starting to make sense too ...
|
I hope this will clear it up.
1) IF the ball (in the opinion of the referee) cleared the net before contacting anything, it's a basket.
2) IF the ball (in the opinion of the referee) contacted the player before clearing the net, it's basket interference.
Given 1 and 2 - and given that play did NOT stop in the game we're talking about - the referees on the spot who had to see this in real-time, from 1 angle, must have ruled that neither 1 or 2 happened... they must have felt that the ball went into the net, and snapped back out - which in ANY code is simply - Play On.
Granted - it's pretty clear they were wrong, although you've seen some disagreement as to whether it was (1) or (2). But we have all had the advantage of replays and likely a better angle.