View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 09, 2012, 02:28pm
Dave Reed Dave Reed is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 329
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by BSUmp16 View Post
..... On plays at 1st base a tie DOES go to the runner (6.05(j)).
7.08(e) applies to force plays at any other base (ties go to the defense).

Not a myth - a rule; check it out.

OK - that takes care of that until next year. No more comments from me
Well, they done changed the rule a couple of years ago, and made the phrasing the same.
6.05(j) After a third strike or after he hits a fair ball, he or first base is tagged before he touches first base;
7.08(e) He or the next base is tagged before he touches the next base, after he has been forced to advance by reason of the batter becoming a runner.

In other words, these days, the "tie" (if you wish to believe in such a thing) goes to the runner in both cases.
Probably better to not trot the above summary out again next year.
Reply With Quote