View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 26, 2012, 12:56pm
MD Longhorn MD Longhorn is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
Both the CO and IP rules say that the coach doesn't have the option if all runners including the batter runner advance safely one base. The rules also say when a runner passes a base, the runner is considered to have touched the base.

With that in mind, I give you the following.

R1 on 1st. IP/CO is called; batter makes contact. R1 makes it safely to third. BR misses 1st but makes it safely to 2nd. Defense appeals. BR is called out. Offensive coach comes out asking for you to enforce the penalty for the IP/CO.

What are you going to do?
The runner may have passed the base, but they did not advance safely to the base. Enforce the IP/CO. (Similar logic to a 2-out BR who missed first and makes it to 2nd, appealed at first negating a run - run cannot score on a play where the BR is put out before safely reaching first base)
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote