Thread: Out of Bounds?
View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 07, 2011, 09:23am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by BDevil15 View Post
Im sure this has been answered before but I couldnt find it so sorry.

Can someone clarify this situation and cite the rule if possible please:

A player is near the sideline dribbling the ball, is forced out of bounds but the ball stays in bounds and player makes no contact with the ball. Player establishes himself in bounds and then is the first to touch the ball.

This is for High school boys.

Thanks
IF the player was still driblbing, then it's an OOB violation.

IF the player left of his own volition, then it's a violation.

IF it was an interrupted dribble AND the player left due to momentum, etc, then it's a legal play.
Reply With Quote