View Single Post
  #64 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 25, 2011, 04:43pm
Adam's Avatar
Adam Adam is offline
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckElias View Post
This play reminds me of one that we talked about a few years ago, and I actually submitted it to a Rules Committee member, b/c we couldn't come to an agreement on it. Here's the original thread:

Case book submissions?

In the play we submitted, the double foul was committed during a throw-in following a basket, rather than during an AP throw-in, but maybe (I'll let you guys decide) the logic would be the same for both situations. Here's the play, with Mary Struckoff's interp (the blue is my explanation of exactly what we're trying to clarify, and the red is Mary's response as related by the committee member):

So, if the POI in this case is a NON-designated spot throw-in b/c that's the type of throw-in that was in progress at the time of the double foul, my guess (and it's only a guess) is that the answer would be the same for a double foul committed during an AP throw-in.

See you in the tournament chat room later tonight.
Thanks, Chuck. This makes sense; even if Randy, scrappy, and RefMag disagree with it.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.