View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 04, 2011, 01:26pm
SamIAm SamIAm is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
This actually happened in the women's game before my game tonight.

A1 is fouled by B1 and is awarded a 1-and-1. B1 makes uncomplimentary comments to the official, and is assessed a technical foul. Officials clear the lane and administer the first free throw of the 1-and-1, which is successful. They then realize that they should've administered the technical free throws first.

So they wipe off the first free throw, and essentially start the sequence over in the correct order.

First, is this a correctable error?

...

Third, what would've happened if the first free throw of the 1-and-1 had been unsuccessful? Does that change anything?
Concerning the first question, which error, I see three possible errors?
1)Not shooting the freethrows in the correct order.
2)Errantly wiping off freethrows that were merited.
3)Errantly starting over the sequence of freethrows that did not need to be started-over.

I presume you mean the first point, however 2 and 3 don't seem to be correctable.
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote