View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 15, 2010, 03:11am
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
Not a backcourt violation. The four criteria for a violation are:

1. Team control
2. Ball must achieve a frontcourt status
3. The team in control is the last to touch the ball while it has a frontcourt status.
4. The team in control is the first to touch the ball after it has achieved a backcourt status.

As I envision the play, a simple muff does not establish team control (no team control on a throw-in under NFHS rules) as the player is not holding or dribble the ball. Therefore no violation.
Give that man a cookie!
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote