View Single Post
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 06, 2010, 10:11pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN View Post
If they don't touch the rim, it's not a dunk.
That statement is 100% wrong. JR will be along shortly to tell you the same.

Where in 4-16 does it mention anything about the ring?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN View Post
My second year in Wisconsin, I had a coach who wanted me to call this cause a player would drop/lightly push it down (he was almost 7 feet tall and would still have six inches between his hand and the rim). After a couple times of him whining, I told him "that's not a dunk, drop it". When I went to the table, he came over with a rulebook and dropped it on the book I was signing.
Sorry, Rich, but you got what you deserved. The coach had every right to be upset that you were using your own personal standard instead of the NFHS rules book definition. The coach may have been a jerk, but he was also correct about the rule.
Reply With Quote