|
Some things that happen during a game call themselves. And this is one of them imo. If a defender reaches over the line and contacts the thrower, call an intentional personal foul. That's the purpose and intent of the rule, not whether a judgment call should be made as to whether the contact was illegal. If the rulesmakers really wanted us to adjudicate the situation that way, I'll guarantee you that we'd have seen a POE or case play to that effect by now.
Gee, guys, all we really need is the coach of the defending team hollering at us that his player didn't mean it and it shouldn't be a foul. Yup, we really need more arguments like that. Our job is just way too easy now anyway.
More paralysis by analysis.
Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Wed Mar 03, 2010 at 10:34am.
|