Quote:
	
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by Snaqwells  Okay, let's try this again.
 Anytime the defense touches the ball held by an airborne shooter who does not release before landing, you have to make a judgment.  "Did the defender's touch prevent the release."  Sometimes that judgment is easier than others.  In the case of the OP, it seems to have been a pretty easy judgment in favor of a travel call.
 | 
	
 but this is my "mental block", and I have simplified the thought process
1) player in air with ball, any rule broken : NO
2) Is player passing, trying holding : OP ays none
3) defense comes from behind 
4) Any illegal contact : NO
5) Defense touches ball 
6) Held ball rule applies : NO
7) offense goes to floor with held ball 
8) Rule 4.44 applies; travel whistle
so no judgment in my mind.