Thread
:
Batter awarded 1st base?
View Single Post
#
37
(
permalink
)
Tue Mar 10, 2009, 02:04pm
Dholloway1962
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by
marvin
In high school when the batter hits a foul ball the rule simply does not apply. The last action in the game was not a pitch, it was a batted ball. The NFHS rule states
after each pitch
. If the foul ball is a continuation of the pitch (the rule still applies) and you apply that strictly then a foul ball retrieved by any other player would have to be returned to the catcher to be returned to the pitcher.
Can't you hear the coach, "I don't care if the right fielder retrieved that foul ball - the rule book says that after each pitch the
CATCHER
shall return the ball to the pitcher."
Real simple answer, "Coach the fielder was not returning a pitched ball to the pitcher, she was returning a batted ball." This is the same answer I would give in the situation where the catcher dives for a foul ball and then tosses it to another player.
NFHS rule 2-2-2 defines a batted ball, I am saying it is no longer a pitch once it becomes a batted ball.
Marvin gets it!!!
Dholloway1962
View Public Profile
Find all posts by Dholloway1962