View Single Post
  #35 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 16, 2008, 09:43pm
tjones1 tjones1 is offline
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,021
Research done by Bob Jenkins.

2001-2002 Interps (continued)

SITUATION 16: A1, while dribbling the ball in the frontcourt near the mid-court line, has the ball strike the mid-court line and as the ball comes up from the dribble, A1 touches the ball and continues to dribble. RULING: Backcourt violation. A1 may not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt, before it went to the backcourt. (9-9-1)

SITUATION 17: A1 is slowly dribbling the ball up the court. B1 is lightly “tagging” A1, but is not impeding A1’s forward motion. The official warns B1 to “keep hands off.” RULING: This is a foul. There is no warning. (10-6-1)

SITUATION 18: A1 is driving towards his/her basket with B1 following. A1 goes up for a lay-up. B1 goes up as well and commits basketball interference. After the basket interference, but before either player returns to the floor, B1 also fouls airborne shooter A1. RULING: The basket interference causes the ball to become dead immediately. Team A is awarded two points for B1’s basket interference, Team B shall have a throw in from anywhere along the end line. B1’s foul is ignored unless deemed unsporting or flagrant. (9-11; 6-7-9)

Note: The above interp (Situation 18) was revised on the FED website a few days after it was posted to recognize that a foul on an airborne shooter is not ignored just because the ball is dead.

SITUATION 19: With four minutes remaining in the game and the score 82-36 with Team A leading, B5 commits his/her fifth personal foul. With four other members of Team B already being disqualified for their fifth foul, Team B has no available substitutes. The referee confers with both coaches and subsequently permits previously disqualified player B3 to return to the contest. RULING: Incorrect procedure. The referee, with or without approval of coaches, does not have the authority to set aside a rule, even if the intent is to be compassionate or fair. (10-6 Pen; 2-8-3)

SITUATION 20: Team A is leading 61-60. B1 fouls A1 in the act of shooting as time expires. As the officials approach the scorer’s table, the Team A coach rushes the floor and begins screaming obscenities at the officials. RULING: A technical foul is assessed to the Team A coach. The foul at the expiration of time is no longer ignored. The technical foul on the Team A coach created a false double foul situation, which may affect the outcome of the game. The penalties will be administered in the order in which they occurred. With the lane cleared, A1 will shoot two free throws for being fouled in the act of shooting. If both are successful, the game is over. If one or both are missed, an eligible player from Team B will shoot the two technical foul free throws. The free throws will determine the outcome of the game or an extra period will be played. COMMENT: Jurisdiction of the officials is terminated when all officials leave the visual confines of the playing area. While the preferred action would be for all officials to immediately leave the playing area, such an observable action by the coach should be penalized as unsporting. (5-6-4; 10-4-ic; 4-19-8; 5-6-3 Exp)