The Patrick Ewing Rule ???
Thanks Nevadaref and Scrapper1. I'm less confused now.
I really like Nevadaref's casebook citation. I would have issued a technical foul, with no warning, in this situation, and I would have been wrong. Isn't this what Patrick Ewing did at the end of the game when Georgetown lost in an NCAA final (to Villanova or North Carolina), which caused this rule to be added to the rulebook? Ewing may be responsible for two rules, delaying the game, and undershirt colors.
10.1.5 SITUATION D: Immediately following a goal by A1, A3 slaps the ball
away so that Team B is unable to make a quick throw-in. RULING: The official
shall sound his/her whistle and go to the table to have the scorer record a teamwarning for delay. The warning shall then be reported to the head coach of Team A. Any subsequent delay by Team A shall result in a team technical foul charged to Team A. (4-47-3)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)
“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
|