Thread: Half time T
View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 28, 2008, 11:03am
eg-italy eg-italy is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
So, when A8, sitting on the bench, pops off and gets himself a T, does that not count towards his 5? Other than the semantics, I see no difference except that the coach gets an indirect as well.
I don't know in FED; but in FIBA a T on bench personnel does not count for team fouls nor towards the fifth foul of a substitute; it is charged only to the coach (type B) and counts towards the three T for the coach. A T can be charged directly to the coach for unsporting behavior (type C); two C fouls or three fouls (three B's or two B's and one C) mandate the coach's ejection. However, since during an intermission ("interval of play", in FIBAspeak) all team members entitled to play are players and not bench personnel (4.1.4), a T charged to one of them counts for the five personal fouls and for team fouls in the subsequent period.

Probably just to add confusion among rule sets.
Reply With Quote