View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 27, 2008, 08:37am
justacoach justacoach is offline
I got a Basketball Jones!
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Hunger
Posts: 859
1999-2000 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

1999-2000 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

Publisher’s Note:
The National Federation of State High School Associations is the only source of official high school interpretations. They do not set aside nor modify any rule. They are made and published by the NFHS in response to situations presented.

Robert F. Kanaby, Publisher, NFHS Publications © 1999

Click here for Publications Corrections

SITUATION 1: Prior to the contest, both head coaches from affirmed their players were legally equipped and would wear uniforms properly. Early in the first quarter, A3 was requested by U1 to tuck her jersey inside the uniform game pants and to keep the pants pulled up above her hips. With six minutes remaining in the quarter, A3 pulled her shorts down and jersey out. U1 stopped the game, assessed the Team A coach with a technical foul and directed A3 leave the contest.
RULING: Incorrect. A3 should be directed to leave the contest. Although the coach is responsible and verifies players are properly equipped and the uniform will be worn properly, no technical foul is assessed when players are discovered not in compliance, unless the official determines the act to be unsportsmanlike. (2-4-5, 3-4-15)

SITUATION 2: A6 and A7 report to the table as substitutes to enter the game at the beginning of the third quarter. Both players enter the court with their shirttails out and prepare to line-up for the division-line throw-in. The official directs both players to leave the court. The coach of Team B protests and insists that both players be assessed technical fouls.
RULING: The official was correct in directing the players to leave the court. (3-4-15)

SITUATION 3: During pregame warm-ups, the referee notices that player A5 has athletic tape on her ears. Upon inquiring, the referee is informed by A5 that she has just had her ears pierced and has put tape on to cover them.
RULING: A5 is instructed to remove the earrings, if she wishes to participate in the contest. (3-5-2)

SITUATION 4: U2 calls a blocking foul on A4, his fifth personal foul. U2 properly reports the foul on A4 to the scorer and then notifies the head coach of Team A that A4 committed his fifth foul. Prior to U2 advising A4 of the disqualifying foul, A4 is overheard by R berating U2. Team B is not in the bonus.
RULING: A4 became bench personnel when the coach was notified of the disqualifying foul. A4 is assessed a bench technical foul and the head coach of Team A is assessed an indirect technical foul. Team B will shoot two free throws for the technical foul and be awarded the ball for a division-line throw-in. (4-34, 10-4-5 Penalty)

SITUATION 5: The Athletic Director (A.D.) of visiting Team B is sitting on the team bench serving as a scorer. As U1 passes in front of the bench, the A.D. loudly exclaims, “You’ll never get a contract from us again.” for which U1 assessed a technical foul. Immediately after the technical was assessed, Player B1 and substitute B7 yelled “That’s bull——,” for which R assessed technical fouls against B1 and B7.
RULING: Two foul shots will be awarded A for each of the assessed technical fouls. The head coach of B is assessed two indirect technical fouls for the technical fouls assessed against bench personnel (A.D.) and B7, who is a substitute until properly reported and beckoned onto the floor by an official. After the six free throws are attempted by Team A, it will be their ball for a division-line throw-in. If the state association permits the use of a coaching box, Team B would have lost the privilege. (10-4-5 Penalty)

SITUATION 6: Player A4 leaves the playing floor before her substitute has an opportunity to report to the scorer’s table. During which time, player A4 disrespectfully addresses the nearest official.
RULING: The official assesses a technical foul on player A4. There is no indirect technical foul charged to the head coach because A4 has not been replaced and is not considered bench personnel. (3-3-3, 4-34-1, 2, 3)

SITUATION 7: A1 has just successfully completed the first shot of a bonus situation. B6 then reports to the scorer’s table and enters the game replacing B1. Team B’s coach calls a time-out before the ball is at the disposal of free-throw shooter A1. After the time out, B1 reports to the scorer’s table and attempts to enter the game replacing B6, before the second free-throw is attempted.
RULING: B1 shall not be permitted to re-enter the game until the next opportunity to substitute after the clock has been restarted, following his/her replacement.

SITUATION 8: Player B3 is called for a technical foul. Player A1 steps to the line and attempts the first free throw. A6 then reports to the table to enter the game to replace player A5 and attempt the second free throw.
RULING: Legal. A substitute may enter the game to attempt one or both free throws resulting from a technical foul. (8-3)

SITUATION 9: During a dead ball after a violation, substitute A6 enters the court without being beckoned by an official. After the ball is at the disposal of the thrower-in, A6 fouls B1. It is then discovered that A6 entered illegally.
RULING: A6 became a legal player when the ball was placed at the disposal of the thrower-in. The foul is a common foul on A6. (3-3-3)

SITUATION 10: Substitute B6, wearing the number 1, properly reports to the scorer’s table. After a violation, the timer sounds the horn to request the substitution.
RULING: B6 shall be beckoned into the game. There is no infraction since the number 1 is a legal number. (3-4-3)

SITUATION 11: Ten minutes before the scheduled starting time of the game, the Referee checks the scorebook for Team B and finds starters checked included player’s identified by number as 2, 35, 00, 31 and 0.
RULING: A technical foul is assessed Team B for having 00 and 0 in the book. While 0 and 00 are legal numbers, a team may not have both 0 and 00 on the team roster. Either player No. 00 or player No. 0 will be required to change jersey numbers prior to being eligible for participation. (3-4-3, 10-1-2)

SITUATION 12: Team A players have a 2½-inch by 4-inch black patch sewn on their uniform pants in memory of a recently deceased teammate.
RULING: Legal. There are no restrictions regarding a memorial/commemorative patch on uniform pants. (3-4)

SITUATION 13: All Team A squad members have a memorial patch on their game jerseys within the 4-inch side insert.
RULING: Legal. Decorations, such as mascots, stars, commemoratives, memorial or recognition patches, insignias or logos are not permitted on the undershirt, but are permitted on the 4-inch insert of the jersey. (3-4-1)

SITUATION 14: All members of Team B are wearing a commemorative patch on the warm-up pants during the pregame warm-up. The patch is the number 12 centered in a circular patch, located on the side seam of the warm-up pant.
RULING: Legal. There is no restriction regarding commemorative patches (even though they contain a number) on the warm-up pant. (3-4)

SITUATION 15: The state association has signed a television contract for the state final tournament games. Contractually, the state association agreed to two one-minute television time-outs per quarter. The state association then stipulated that each team would be permitted only one 20-second time-out during the last two minutes of the second and fourth quarters.
RULING: Legal. When electronic media time-outs are permitted the state association may determine the number of time-outs and may reduce (or eliminate) charged time-outs. (5-12-5 Note)

SITUATION 16: Prior to the start of the game, the referee discovers the game ball does not have the NFHS Authenticating Mark.
RULING: If no other balls are available with the NFHS Authenticating Mark, the game shall proceed with an otherwise legal ball (unless the state association has determined a penalty shall apply). The referee should inform the state association of the school’s noncompliance. (1-12-1g)

SITUATION 17: B1 reaches across the boundary line and touches a ball that is being bounced by the official to thrower-in A1. What is the proper procedure?
RULING: This is a violation of the throw-in plane. The official reports the warning to the official scorer as a team warning for Team B, and instructs the scorer to record the warning in the scorebook. The official shall also inform Team B’s head coach of the warning. Any subsequent violation of the same type shall be a team technical. The official scorekeeper shall notify the official of the second same type violation. (4-46, 9-2-11)

SITUATION 18: Defensive player B1 has established legal guarding position on A1, as A1 is moving to receive a pass. A1 takes three strides and contact occurs on B1’s torso.
RULING: Personal foul on A1. B1 granted A1 at least two strides before contact occurred. (4-23-5b)

SITUATION 19: During a full time-out, the head coach of Team B has players sit on team stools at the closest free-throw area.
RULING: Time-outs must be taken from the confines of the team bench area. Coach B shall be instructed to conduct his/her time-out at the bench area. Failure to comply with this directive shall result in a technical foul assessed directly to the head coach. (5-15-5, 10-5-2a, Penalty)

SITUATION 20: Team A scores a field goal and B1 is taking the ball out of bounds, running the end line. When B1 inbounds, A1 intentionally kicks the ball.
RULING: On the ensuing throw-in, B1 will have a designated spot throw-in. (7-5-2)
__________________
Lah me..
(In honor of Jurassic Ref, R.I.P.)