Quote:
Originally Posted by Four Seam
ASA tournament, tied game goes on to eighth inning. As each team goes on offense, umpire asks scorekeeper who made the last out in seventh inning and places that player on second base. Umpire is technically incorrect...player to be placed on second base is player scheduled to bat last in the eighth inning. While driving home I was trying to think of all the ways in which the player who made the last out and the player scheduled to bat last could be different:
Last out made on force play at any base other than first.
Runner caught stealing
Runner other than batter-runner out for interference.
Runner out on appeal.
Batted out of order.
Can you think of others?
|
Why would you think of others when its not applicable to the rule?
The umpire was incorrect in asking for the "last out".
You ask for the last person who completed their at bat, no the last out.