Thread: Self bat
View Single Post
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 25, 2007, 02:36pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
But I don't see how it can be legal to bat the ball in the air during a dribble, take several steps, and then catch the ball.
Scrappy, if the player fumbled the ball, took several steps and then caught the ball, would that be illegal also? Can you cite a rule that says it is illegal?

Casebook play 4.15.4SitD(a) says that you can't continue to dribble after you make a second touch during a single dribble. It doesn't say that its illegal to end a dribble that way though. The player simply ended a legal dribble. What he subsequently does will determine the further legality of the play.

Casebook play 4.15.4SitE(b) is about starting a dribble. There never was a legal dribble because the ball never touched the floor before the illegal second touching. Rule 4-15-1.
Reply With Quote