Thread: Self bat
View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 25, 2007, 02:27pm
JoeTheRef JoeTheRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by KCRef
You are so damn WRONG. Read the rule book!

With one exception, you must be HOLDING the ball in order to travel!

As long as the player above did not end his dribble, his play is perfectly legal. If he ended the dribble, released the ball and then touched it again, it's an illegal dribble. But under NO circumstances is this ever traveling!!!
I don't know why, but I feel embarassed to say this, but this was in a pick-up game in which I was playing. OK, there I said it. I told my team-mate I thought it was a travel, but it was a game-ender at 11:00 at night, and we were all ready to go home anyway, so not too much complaining.

So, BBR, it sounds like it depends on whether or not the dribble ended. If it was just a bat, then the dribble did not end, thus legal. However, if he picked it up with both hands and lobbed it forward to himself and did as described, it would be double dribble as soon as he caught it. Is this correct?[/QUOTE]

Since you clarified on the level or type of game... IT WAS A FRICKIN NO CALL!!!!!!
Reply With Quote