View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 09, 2007, 09:24am
Buckley11 Buckley11 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 39
I concur with Junker, I WILL NOT have one as I HOLD my preliminary signal on simi whistles. Thorough pre-game of this assures that we will give it up to primary and in dual coverage areas we will "give it up" to where the play originated.

The college rule book is much more clear on how to handle this 'double foul' because we can score a bucket on this "charging" foul when the ball is "off".

I guess I was over analyzing things in the NFHS because we NEVER count a basket on a player control, no matter where the ball is when the contact occurs. On the other hand, there is NO team control on a shot. Somewhat of a contradiction to count a basket on a player control foul, but I will write it off as one of the "exceptions" since it is cited in the case book. I look forward to reading up on POI as it relates to the failed shot attempt when ball was "off", and when the Team A player was holding the ball at the time of contact.....Player control vs. Team control.

Thanks for you input......Why can't the NCAA and NFHS get together on rules and mechanics....aren't their offices just steps away from one another...
Reply With Quote