Thread: Layup
View Single Post
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 19, 2006, 08:35pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker

JR -- I said T because of A2 using something to illegally get taller. Then I called it flagrant because it was an opponent. I thought about live-ball contact, but the contact wasn't the basis for the technical. I'd be fine with a flagrant personal, though. Either way, the kid sits...
Juulie, as per NFHS rule 10-3-7(d), you can only call a technical foul if they climb on a teammate. The rule doesn't apply to climbing on an opponent. Illegal contact with an opponent during a live ball is covered under "personal foul" in rule 4-19-1.

That was my point.

PS- the NCAA rule reads exactly the same way iirc.
Reply With Quote