View Single Post
  #37 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 04, 2005, 02:35pm
l3will l3will is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: minnesota
Posts: 154
Quote:
Originally posted by booker227
I was kidding about the definition of a "ball-in-flight". But, the fair catch calling R is afforded protection only while the ball is in the air. (dont over complicate the rule) Once the ball hits the ground, protection for him ends. But, he cannot get involved in the play since the FC signal nullifies his involvement. And since the ball has traveled at least ten yards in the air and hit the ground, it is a grounded ball which can be recovered by K and R.
By involvement, you mean he can't block anyone until the kick ends. But he sure can try to get the ball.
Reply With Quote