View Single Post
  #57 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 27, 2005, 09:37pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
[/B]
1) But in the Rule 4 CB Play, A1's taunting foul causes the ball to stay dead if it was dead when A1 taunted or to become dead if the ball was live at the time that A1 taunted B1. In either case, A1's foul is a technical foul and B1's foul is a dead ball contact foul and also a techncial foul.

2) And as I stated in my earlier post, the Rule 10 CB Play is just a run of the mill double personal foul between A1 and B1 with both players being disqualified if nothing else happens; bench personnel leaving the bench area to enter the court changes the double personal foul to flagrant technical fouls because A1 and B1's actions are now defined as a fighting.

I am not reading the CB Plays to support my opinion, I am reading them per the rules. I just think that the fighting definition could be better written and deleted all together. I think that the CB Plays handled the situations correctly by rule, but the fighting definition is confusing.

[/B][/QUOTE]1) The casebook play does not specify when the ball became dead. You're trying to make it dead at a point in time that will support your opinion. Unfortunately the case book play does not read definitively enough to support your hypothesis. The bottom line is you're still applying your opinion only to this case book play to attain the result that you think should be there.

2) Are you serious? A double personal foul turn into a double technical foul at the waving of Mark's magic wand? C'mon now, Mark. Even for you, that's so far out, it's ridiculous. The case book very plainly and unequivacably says "A1 and B1 are charged with flagrant fouls and are disqualified, but no free throws result from the double personal foul". You can dig up James Naismith and J. Dallas Shirley and there's still nowayinhell even with their help that you can turn a double personal foul into a double technical foul in that case play. If there was, it would have been somewhere in that case play already. Lah me! That one's unbelievable.
Reply With Quote