Oh, but I love these scenarios. I just thought of this twist, admittedly damaging to my previous position. What is the call if A1 takes the ball OOB after made basket, throws to A2 who is also standing outside the endline, and A2 fumbles the ball causing it to roll onto the court? If the fumble is not a throw, and I believe it is not by rule, do we now have a throw-in violation as soon as this occurred? Or, can A2 step out, retrieve the ball, and complete the throw-in (assuming all of this transpires within the 5 seconds)?
|