
Mon Dec 27, 2004, 06:28pm
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by mcrowder
Forget the gross miss. The only true question is on the close miss.
In Grey's situation 1, I have an out.
In Grey's situation 2, I have safe. Why? Because when a runner rounds a base and misses it, her only way to correct the error is to go back and touch it. In this sitch, when she misses 2nd and immediately returns to 2nd and then 1st, she has in essence done just that. If you do not agree, then do you also call her out if she rounds 2nd and misses it, recognizes her miss, stops, and returns directly to 2nd, ending the play standing there on 2nd?
|
Obviously not and, IMO, ludicrous to suggest so. Two different scenarios, actions and rulings.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
|