Quote:
Originally posted by cmathews
I have to agree with Smiley, the situations are not one and the same. In 9.2.2c B1 attempts an illegal throw in by not being out of bounds. In this case there is no throw in attempted. I can see delay, I can even see the 5 second count, however I can also see the validity in the argument that the player didn't know that the ball had gone through the hoop. I would be tempted to blow it dead and make them inbound it.
|
The NFHS clarified this rule specifically to stop officials from having to use their own judgement as to how to call this type of play. The rule used to have a gray area in it; that gray area has been completely eliminated. Rule 9-2-2 couldn't be more explicit now.It is a violation. If you call it any other way,you are wrong, by rule!
As BktBallRef said, we spent weeks going over the different ways that this play could have be called under the old, vague language. The FED then changed the language, and it can only be called one way now- whether we agree with it, or not.