The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sat Apr 19, 2014, 03:26pm
Official Forum Member

Ball Handling

I've been working a decent amount of club this season but I'm still having trouble recognizing doubles and lifts.Does anyone have any advice to help with this problem? My ball handling marks in hs camp were all pretty good but then the 1 match I worked as a HS R1 (a jv match) my partner thought I let my setters get away with murder.
Thanks everyone
The golfing volleyball ref and official scorekeeper
Old Sun Apr 20, 2014, 10:14am
Official Forum Member

Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Are you following the flight of the ball, or are you getting ahead to the setter's hands? If you're following the flight of the ball, I'd urge you to learn to recognize the trajectory and speed of the ball off of each contact to get ahead to where the ball will be. When you get ahead to that next point of contact, your relaxed eyes will make things much easier for you to see.

You probably should also watch a match with experienced officials to see what they call. You might learn how certain violations look. In addition, you might want to videotape a match you work and have someone watch it to show you specifically which balls should have been called (or not). There are good officials camps out there where you can have your matches recorded and clips given to you for educational purposes.
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Old Sun Apr 20, 2014, 10:08pm
Official Forum Member