The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sun Aug 19, 2007, 02:12pm
Official Forum Member

I nearly died!

Was talking with a fan about soccer and volleyball the other day. In all seriousness she said, "You know, I liked volleyball a whole lot better when they played side out instead of that point on every serve and they didn't have that player with the other color uniform." I nearly died!
Old Mon Aug 20, 2007, 01:49pm
Lighten up, Francis.

Ok, as a newbie, I don't get why this almost brought about your demise. I never heard of a libero before I started reffing and isn't "rally" scoring relatively new? So wasn't this person just saying that she prefered volleyball the "old" way? Is the new way just much much better, in your view?
Old Mon Aug 20, 2007, 09:14pm
Official Forum Member

Much! Much! Much! Much ... Especially Rally Scoring. Games are faster and more fun. Some small schools I officiate still don't use the Libero and because girl's VB and boy's soccer seasons coincide I don't do a whole lot of Varsity VB games each year. The Libero does add a certain dimension of excitement by the excellent defense and hustle, but when you're first getting adjusted it can get confusing if you haven't done club ball.

Last edited by refnrev; Mon Aug 20, 2007 at 09:22pm.
Old Tue Aug 21, 2007, 11:04am
Resident VB Rules Guru

Send a message via AIM to MCBear Send a message via MSN to MCBear Send a message via Yahoo to MCBear Send a message via Skype™ to MCBear